In Alaska, you must title and register your vehicle at the same time. In some cases, though, you can simply transmit ownership along with plates. The following article will walk you through these stages and give you some basic information.
Transferring a Car Title and Plates In AK
To transfer your title or number tags, you have to provide the following documentation:
You have to provide both tags. They mustn’t be damaged. In case you’ve lost one of them, you should first apply for a replacement.
Take into account that you can only transfer the decals to your new automobile or motorcycle. In all other cases, you will need to surrender them. You cannot switch from common to custom tags by just shifting the ownership. However, there are several Alaska license plate options to choose from if you just surrender the previous ones.
The designation is generally signed by the automobile’s owner. The vendor has to supply you with odometer disclosure documents, and the car must pass emissions testing. Bring all of your papers and payment to the MVD in your area.
When you submit the DMV transmit papers and pay the fees, your car will be registered. If this is your first time titling an automobile, you should do so in person.
In case you work in AK, you have to register your car within 10 working days. For two months, a non-resident may drive a vehicle with current registration from another state.
If you have just moved here for a long period of time, it’s better to run an Alaska license plate lookup, check the availability of your desired combination, and get a new one.
You will need to bring your out-of-state documents as well as a VIN check when relocating to AK. The latter is essential to demonstrate that your automobile is neither stolen nor involved in any criminal activity.
The above-mentioned documents are all necessary for the shift.
If it is a new vehicle, both the manufacturer's declaration of
origin and the invoice should be presented. If you're buying a
used automobile or motorcycle, you'll need an odometer
statement, which is also required for a private sale.
Fees and Applicable Payments
Generally, the fee is $5 for most types of number tags. However, take into account that the prices may differ. The below-mentioned types are subject to a $5 charge.
Support Our Troops
Fire Fighter / EMS
In God We Trust
However, there is a fee waiver for Disabled Vet; Disability; Gold Star Family; Prisoner of War, and Pearl Harbor Survivor types.
Do I need insurance?
Yes, you do need insurance. The owner of a vehicle in Alaska is
required by law to carry liability insurance in force that
covers the minimum amounts from $50,000 for any single person's
bodily harm or death up to $100,000 for bodily injury or death
as a result of an accident.